It will have been

Everytime I shut my eyes there you are

your sad blue eyes looking back at me from the mirror

You never really go away

you linger like smoke after the fire,

we said goodbye, and still my heart

hangs heavy with the memory of your smile

weighs heavier still when for a moment

you’re in the room with me.

 

I don’t know what manner of exorcism

might liberate my stupid heart

but I often seek it.

 

I draw my heart onto the waiting pages

in hopes that some figure some combination of words

might set me free from your cold dead hands.

 

Nevertheless, I light a candle,

and whisper your name in my prayers

despite it all.

 

Maybe when the sun rises again

it will have been beautiful.

Leave a Reply

