Touch Not the Lord’s Anointed

My Experience with Mother Mary.

So, I just got back from my trip to Ave Maria, in Southwest Florida. To those who don’t know, it’s an amazing place if you like Orthodoxy. So, my friend Harrison and I were off to our adventures which included sitting in Grad class on the New Testament, and then lunch before going to see the Oratory (chapel, to those who don’t know) and taking a general tour of some other thigns I hadn’t seen yet.

When we briefly entered the chapel of perpetual adoration, I almost wept at the beauty of Our Lord. But that wasn’t the end of my contemplation.

As we entered the oratory Harrison showed me around and he politely whispered the facts about the oratory to me. As we approached the front of the oratory, I saw a statue of Mother Mary and was particularly drawn to it.

Then it happened.

I kissed my fingers and went to touch the statue, and it suddenly hit me like a ton of bricks, that to do this unworthily could easily result in my death. I stopped for a moment, made the sign of the cross and repented of any sin, known and unknown before proceeding to touch the foot of the Blessed Virgin.

It hit me, this is the Mother of God, the Holiest woman in all existence, the only human being who has ever embodied the presence as the Human Ark of the Covenant.

Quickly i realized the frailty of my own soul and the terrible gap that stands between myself and the great saints. I stand broken, judged not in God’s wrathful search to destroy me, but in His merciful embrace. I stand judged not by looking to my own sins, but the sinlessness of the Mother of God. Hail Holy Queen is the only response that left my lips in that moment, and I was terribly afraid that I should have died when i lay that kiss upon our blessed mother’s feet.

Holy Mary, Mother of God, Pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our deaths. Amen.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One thought on “Touch Not the Lord’s Anointed

Leave a Reply

