Catchers in the Midnight Wind

Poured out,
these libations line your waiting altar
forgotten though you may be

slipping by,
the things that once we held so dear
discarded memories

echoing,
in the night’s once dormant breeze
that catches like the storm

watching out,
for catchers in the midnight wind
to gently lead them home

breathing deep,
the things that once consumed our globe
collect the dust and keep it like treasure

memories,
the wants of once important things
holding onto what was once the sky

forgotten,
keys left standing in a waiting lock
never to be opened

collected,
at mirror’s edge, they wait with silence
locked behind another life

in the end,
there’s nothing left,
but bones beneath the darkened soil

6 thoughts on “Catchers in the Midnight Wind

    • Thanks Steve,

      I decided to let people know I’m still a human heart under all this intensive theological practice. I’ doing heavy lifting, I’m working myself hard especially now, but it’s all united.

      The scheduled post feature has given me some free time in some ways, but all that time is usually spent doing church work among other things. All i can say is, I’m glad with how this one turned out. It just happened, and those are the best.

      eli

  1. Gosh, I hope nothing I’ve said has implied any belief on my heart that you don’t have not just a human heart, but a great heart, as I continually say.

    If there’s any “problem” at all, it’s the subject matter itself, in my opinion. I know how important it is for you to sort all of this out; I just don’t know what the humble Nazarene would make of so much of the theologizing and Christologizing that goes on in his name (this isn’t a special criticism of you, but of all the theologians that begin bringing their human views to Jesus as early as the 2nd century after him.) I just don’t think Jesus came to set up a new super-religion called “Christianity,” to eclipse his own Judaism, but rather, the kingdom of heaven on earth. All the rest of this stuff is just added, in my opinion, by the later church-makers. I just don’t find in the gospels the Jesus that people like the crypto-neo-Platonist Augustine and all this ilk go on and on about about trying to sort out metaphysical issues that owe more to Greece philosophy and metaphysics than to the (comparatively) simple God of the Hebrew scriptures.

    Of course, this is bringing in another subject of discussion, but it just comes up in my mind when I think about why Christians spends so much time working out all of these metaphysical points that aren’t even extant in the gospel itself. (I, at least, don’t see it there—which of course, means, ipso fact, it can’t be there, right? LOL!)

    The Jesus of Mark is no theologian; he rarely talks “metaphysics” as such, but rather, talks and acts like I’d expect a Jewish minister/preacher of his time to talk and act. All the rest of this stuff is the human mind’s attempt to figure out the divine– great fun, great intellectual sparring and jousting, but alien to the guy who’s talking to me in Mark.

    My two bits. But hey, seriously, you’re heart is beyond question, and dearly beloved of the Father, if he’s any kind of Father at all!

    Steve

    • no no, not at all. I just need to remind myself sometimes. I figure some of my audience is getting tired of me doing all this grunt work, but again, i call it battle meditation. lol.

      we’re disagreed on Mark as a theologian because I think he is a theologian. However, his theology is extremely jewish, and quite precise. His central theme is the identity of Jesus. His central answer comes from the mouth of an outsider, the centurion.

      The key crux of the narrative is Peter’s confession at the mountain of transfiguration. He begins his gospel with the words, the beginning of the gospel. The gospel even in Mark’s mind begins with the empty tomb, but is fulfilled in the proclamation of the church.

      metaphysics are not explicit in Mark, he’s no greek, and no systematician, but he does have theology, even in the formal sense. He’s doing theology as narrative.

      I’m glad we’re friends, in all truth, I didn’t mean to sound as if i were offended, that’s not the case at all. I just needed a break, and poetry is my muse.

      ^_^

      -eli

  2. We’ll just have to agree to disagree on Mark, though I know where you are coming from, and respect it. In any event, I’ll take Mark’s Jesus over Paul’s or Augustine’s any time. 🙂

    I’m glad we are friends, too. And you didn’t sound offended; I just wanted to reassure. Words can seem so harsh sometimes, in a post, comment, or forum, and without the living person there, and I just wanted to reassure.

    Your poetry, btw, is a great muse.

    Steve

    • thanks, I try to write words for the soul.

      I know i needed beautiful words in arid times. There were words there to help me, beautiful words and I simply hope to provide springs and trees in barren times of the soul.

Leave a Reply

