What is Sin? (A Dialogue)

This Conversation began with the usual “what’s up,” greetings and carried through as follows here. I have posted this as part of my blogrimage because I think it’s a good reminder to all of us. Enjoy.

Clive: I read Lewis’ The Weight of Glory last night (The essay, not the book. Well sermon… not essay. Anyway, you get the idea)

Eli: yeah how was it?

Clive: It was Lewis, which means it was wonderful

Eli: haha, obviously. that’s great. I have a new prayer partner i meet with on saturday mornings that’s been going really well

Clive: That’s good

Eli: Agreed i needed more prayer time.

Clive: So do I. I’ve found prayer very difficult the past six or so months

Eli: i understand entirely, maybe a friend might help?

Clive: Maybe so.

Eli: I‘d been having difficulties until i started meeting with Phil. We usually talk for about 45 minutes before we pray. It helps to just be open and get it all out there you know?

Clive: yeah

Eli: i’m sorry things have been rough. I offer my continued prayers

Clive: Thank you, I do appreciate it

Eli: For sure. Also, make sure to just get out and have fun Christianity isn’t about feeling like you believe or don’t believe. Where life is truly experienced, The life made possible by the spirit, there god also can be experienced. Maybe just go do something ridiculous, to put you in a good mood.

Clive: Maybe so. That’s good advice

Eli: it’s true. The best thing to happen to me recently was a bonfire where i played mafia with some highschool and college kids. I loved it, and i felt the grace of God in that moment, where I was affirmed that I was doing the right thing with my life.

Clive: That’s awesome

Eli: yeah, it was great

Clive: It’s funny, Lewis talks about that in the Weight of Glory

Eli: me and Lewis have the Spirit, haha.

Clive: lol. He said that he’s convinced that the world is not split between the happy and the unhappy but rather that it is split between those who enjoy happiness and those who don’t

Eli: exactly. He’s a master and i think he’s right

Clive: Eli, what is your view of sin?

Eli: like…what is sin?

Clive: yeah

Eli: I think sin is the absence of true Life, as in pure life, as in vitality and goodness. sin is anything and everything that corrupts instead of furthers Life, and is a power that when embodied in us spreads like a virus. Sin is simply, the absence of genuine Divine Love, and a rejection of glory. By glory I simply mean, what happens when humans rightly see Divine Love.

Clive: I guess I’m growing more and more aware of sin in my life and I feel very helpless to overcome it, and I feel like no matter what I do I never please God.

Eli: welcome to brokenness.

But the story doesn’t end here! Here’s what’s up, you’re in the beginning of the right place, now, you must realize, you can’t please god on your own, and it’s not about what you can and can’t do, in that the gospel is not so that you can save yourself. It’s simply about responding to the already ever present divine yes that is god’s love

Clive: But what does that look like?

Eli: good question, here’s Eli’s two cents

Eli: Go out, and enjoy life, knowing that the father who has given you breath desires that you cherish the creation, simply because it’s pure gift, and the only response one desires from a gift is the response of appreciation and joy. The only response that love desires is love back. You can’t reach a place of divine “I’ve got it,” you can only reach a place where you can say “it’s got me, and I love it all the more.” You’ll never get discipleship just right, there’s no magic formula, just, appreciation.

Clive: Ok that makes sense

Eli: I think in extremely practical terms, it means, just go out, and appreciate something. Beauty is a manifestation of God, when we stop to see it, and when we see it with the eyes of faith shaped by Jesus. When it becomes a gift to us, we see glory.

Clive: Did you read The Weight of Glory? It sounds like you’re quoting it.

Eli: nope.

Clive: Wow. the Charismatic in me thinks God is trying to say something to me

Eli: yep. Von Balthasar and Lewis have a lot in common. Whenever I’m depressed or whatever i try to fall back on beauty. That’s what i’ve been working with in our convo, but yes, the Spirit is trying to tell you something.

Clive: Thanks, Eli. This has been helpful

Eli: I’m glad. I love you with all my heart, as little and cold as it sometimes is. I’m a grinch sometimes, but, i try.

Clive: lol. Eli, your heart is warm and full and passionate

Eli: Not as often as i’d like. But, that’s neither here nor there

All in all we’re simply here to appreciate because in being open to receive we’ve done the first thing an appropriate response to God does it says ‘thank you.’

-end dialogue

So, for me, part of this blogrimage is about learning to say thank you, and sometimes, I’m not very good at that. Here’s a challenge to all of us, to stop, and say thank you, because that’s what matters most.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
6 thoughts on “What is Sin? (A Dialogue)

  1. Hi, Eli,

    I read the title of the post and I felt like a kid at school whose hand shoots up because she’s so anxious to be called on! My answer was, “Sin is the failure to love.”

    And then I got to your definition, which is a beautiful expansion of that thought.

    Thank you.

    Nancy
    http://saradode.wordpress.com

    • Haha, I’m glad we’re on the same page. I think that this blogrimage thing has been really really good for me. I am loving everything i’m learning from the experience.

      I’m much more conversational and friendly than my blogging sometimes lets off, haha.

      I’m just glad to be able to share.

      As always, thanks for reading, and being a great friend.
      eli

  2. >>I think sin is the absence of true Life, as in pure life, as in vitality and goodness. sin is anything and everything that corrupts instead of furthers Life, and is a power that when embodied in us spreads like a virus. Sin is simply, the absence of genuine Divine Love, and a rejection of glory. By glory I simply mean, what happens when humans rightly see Divine Love.

    “Can I get a big “Amen” from the Buddhist guy?

    AMEN!

    Thank you, brother!”

    Good stuff, my man.

  3. Like we can read in Scripture sin seems to be everything that divides us from God. True evil is not bad things we do, as the lack of trust in our Creator, and the fear of Him.
    My personal view and interpretation of catechism and Bible.
    Thanks for this article!

Leave a Reply

