Nouns Gone Wild

This is part of the blogging project about the 95 theses of the Cluetrain Manifesto. All posts in the project can be found here.

10. As a result, markets are getting smarter, more informed, more organized. Participation in a networked market changes people fundamentally.

I work in marketing. Which is to say, I’m paid to communicate effectively. Markets, conversations are getting smarter.

Anyone who watches markets can see the more human element overcoming the banality of “customer service.” Companies are saying more. But they’re saying more as people. Steve Jobs was and is Steve Jobs because he put a human face on personal computing with a charisma that Bill Gates just couldn’t match. Now, I’m not an Apple fanboy, but Steve Jobs just had that human element.

Sure Microsoft is the king of enterprise, but who made enterprise products personal again? Now, iTunes has sucked since 2009, but it’s the personality of Apple as a company that keeps people coming back.

Participation in a networked market fundamentally changes people.

I did some research and found out that these theses were indeed written in the 90’s but more than just markets, which I think is a very arbitrary place to limit the conversation, why not go broader?

Participation in networked conversation fundamentally changes people and the processes by which they engage each other and the world. As the conversation broadens, so do the possibilities.

I mean, just look. According to the site  stats, about half of you aren’t even American, which is really, really cool. I remember when iw as 5, we got the internet. I remember learning about physics, black holes and sports all from the internet every day after school. IT changed me forever. I was able to read massive amounts of information, expanding my vocabulary, and learning things that my education system might restrict me from until it felt I was ready.

Conversations constitute our humanity. I don’t really know how else to say it. Without interrelationality, we’re left lacking. This isn’t to say that apart from formal society humans are less human, we have a seemingly natural urge to respect, admire and want to help these people, often children. We want to know their words, their minds.

In fact, when I was in college, one of my professors asserted that the Trinity, the Christian God, was essentially a conversation. I still remember those words, and the impact they made on me. I’ll never forget them. Conversations have power, and networked conversations even more so, as we link people and things that had no place being brought up in previous contexts.

Anyways, conversations are important, and I hope you take the time to consider how they have and do impact your life. I could say more, but I’m trying to experiment with being content not saying everything. Lemme know what you think.

Leave a Reply

